Hope Fatigue: Thoughts on Ferguson

Image credit: Marcus Yam ‏@yamphoto

Image credit: Marcus Yam (‏@yamphoto) on Twitter

“After a night of rioting in Ferguson following the announcement of the Grand Jury decision, I’ve seen a lot of anger and sadness.  I’m angry and sad too.  But there’s something else I’ve seen, and I’ve seen it following every disheartening piece of news about America and the world for a while, that I feel needs to be fought.  I’ve seen a lot of what I’m calling ‘hope fatigue.’

People who write that they don’t know what to do, only they feel like we’ll never move forward in this country.  Friends who write that they feel like giving up.”

My friend Stephanie wrote the text quoted above in this post.

It’s a response to Ferguson.

Well, maybe more than Ferguson. It’s a response to  what we’re all feeling. And I think it’s simply beautiful. Well, maybe more than beautiful. It’s something that we all need to hear. Please give it a read, and consider posting it when you see people commenting about how lost they feel, about how alone they are, about how they are forgotten.

…people like to pretend change doesn’t take lifetimes.  It does, and it always has.

READ: Hope Fatigue

Leave a Reply

