Loki Fights Like a Girl, and That’s a Good Thing

Fairy tales, Loki, and a pretty cool argument about equality–what more could you want?

Hannah Reads Books

Minor spoilers if you haven’t seen Thor: The Dark World.

The first Thor movie is absolutely my favorite Marvel movie, and I was happy with the sequel, too. A few weeks ago, I saw this on Pinterest:

Loki and Frigga pin

Basically, it’s an observation that Loki’s Asgardian mother Frigga fights the same way Loki does: with trickery. Loki’s signature move is to create an illusion of himself and get his attacker to lunge at it, thus trapping him, luring him off a cliff, or providing an opportunity to attack him from behind. I had noticed Frigga doing it too in The Dark World, so I pinned the picture happily and went on about my business.

However, I’ve recently realized this is more important than I thought. I don’t care if Loki was adopted, and Frigga doesn’t either — she raised him, and it’s clear in TDW that they were close. (Tom Hiddleston has…

View original post 677 more words

One thought on “Loki Fights Like a Girl, and That’s a Good Thing

Leave a Reply

