Sherlock Holmes & The Raven: Literary Art

I love Sherlock Holmes. If you haven’t read the stories by Arthur Conan Doyle, you need to read them. If you haven’t seen the new BBC series, Sherlock,  you need to watch it. Seriously. Benedict Cumberbatch is awesome, and who doesn’t love Martin Freeman? (if you don’t love him, we are no longer friends). Since I teach English Literature, I have a rather sizable book collection. From time to time, I end up with duplicates. Sometimes I donate the duplicates to libraries, sometimes I sell them, and sometimes I make art. Case in point:

 

Sherlock Holmes literary art

This was made using an old Sherlock book that I had lying about. I believe the story is “A Study in Scarlet.” I also cut out some quotes to put on the top of the background text, but I hadn’t done so when I took this image. I also made literary art using Edgar Allen Poe’s “The Raven.” The background text on this is “The Tell Tale Heart.” I cut out the entire text of “The Raven” and put it on top of the background text.  If you’d like one, let me know 🙂

the raven Edgar allen poe literary art

the raven edgar allen poe literary art text

2 thoughts on “Sherlock Holmes & The Raven: Literary Art

  1. I would love one of the raven with the poem in the background like these!! How much would one cost? 🙂

    • Hi Maddie, sorry that it took so long to respond. The general price is 50$ However, if you want me to be able to fit the entire poem on the back, it will be a bit more. The reason for that is that I need to have multiple copies of the poem in order to cut out the necessary text. This means that I have to buy multiple copies of the book. If you are interested, I’d be happy to make one for you.

Leave a Reply

