Crayon Art

IMG_4416(1)This is a really quick craft that anyone can do. Unfortunately, you can’t really do anything else while you are working on this craft. You see, I am rather lazy. I like to watch TV; however, watching TV makes me feel as though I am wasting my life. So I do crafts while I am watching tv.

To sum:
I watch tv.
I do crafts.
I don’t waste my life.

But that’s not the case with this craft...

You see, in order to make this fantastical piece of art, you need to melt crayons. To do this, you need to use a hairdryer. And as we all know, hairdryers are rather loud. So this craft kind of eats all of your attention. Well, I supposed that you could watch TV…you just couldn’t hear it. Anyways, I will give you a quick step-by-step guide on how to do this (to be honest, it is rather easy, so a guide probably isn’t really necessary…but ah well).

Materials:

  • crayons
  • canvas
  • hot glue
  • hair dryer
  • old sheet

Steps:

  • Sort out what colors you want to use. You will want to mix in the dark and light colors, lest you have one super dark side and one uber light side. To ensure that you can differentiate between the dark and light colors once they are melted, put at least two similar colors next to one another. That way, the drips will be thick enough to see.
  • Taking the wrappers off is a poor life-choice.

    Taking the wrappers off is a poor life-choice.

    Glue the crayons to the canvas using hot glue. Leave the wrappers on, or the crayons will look ridiculous when they melt (see the photo to the right with the wrappers taken off). Start at the edge and just work your way across, gluing crayon after crayon to the canvas until you reach theother edge.

  • Lay down a sheet to protect whatever surface you are working on (it’ll get covered in melted crayon). Make sure that the canvas is standing upright so the wax can drip down the front.
  • Put the hairdryer on “medium,” angle the dryer so that it is pointing down towards the tips of the crayons (you are trying to melt the tips; if you point it straight on, the wax in the middle will melt and fly all over the place…learned that the hard way.
  • Once the wax is melted to the point desired, get some fake flowers and use hot glue to keep them on the canvas

                 And you’re done!

My dog, trying to help

My dog, trying to help

Here, you see my dog after he finally came out of hiding (the hairdryer scared him). He’s investigating the final product…I think he approved. Below, you will find another piece that I did. I used all of the steps above, except that I put a piece of paper over the spot where the man and woman are. That keeps the wax off of that area. Once I’d finished melting the crayons, I stenciled in the drawing. The piece below was done on white cardboard. I REALLY do not recommend using it. Just stick to the canvas. This was my first attempt and I didn’t want to waste the canvas, hence the cardboard. It’s not terrible, but I need to find something to frame it. It looks a little cheap like it is.

Couple With Umbrella

crayon artcrayon art

2 thoughts on “Crayon Art

  1. Pingback: Logiken stämmer! | kpellie7a

Leave a Reply

