The Crazy Hair Chronicles

Pink is my Favorite color

017Sing it.

Come on, you know you want to. Did you sing it? If not, stop reading until you sing it…. Now then, I am going to assume that you all sang it. If you didn’t, you are all terrible people.

But moving on… to the right, you see a picture of me with a super fantastical hair cut. At least, I think it was super and fantastical. Did you notice that I said “was” ?? Well, we’ll get to that in a moment.

I have a friend who is simply amazing at cutting hair, Kara. She is one of those people who can tell, just by glancing at someone, what hairstyle will look best on them…of course, she has years of experience working in a hair salon to assist her with this, but I digress. My understanding of hair and how hair operates is rather limited (to put it nicely).

Generally, I stand in front of the mirror, look at my hair, and yell “DO THINGS!!!” (it works a lot more often that you’d think). Since I know so little about hair, and how to make it do things that look pretty, when I go to get a hair cut I just tell them what I want, sit in the chair, close my eyes, and hope for the best. Sometimes this turns out swell. Sometimes not so swell. Let me show you…

The Journey Begins:

As I said, the above picture is all thanks to my friend Kara. She colored it and did the cut. And later she trimmed it up for me so that I didn’t look like a scraggly hobo who hadn’t had a hair cut in years (no offense to hobos, of course. Some of them have lovely hair, I am sure). I had that cut for a month or so. As I was spending the summer in London, I wanted to get my hair cut a couple of weeks before I left. That way, I wouldn’t have to worry about trying to get it cut overseas. Unfortunately, Kara was busy and couldn’t cut it when I asked. And I am impatient and didn’t want to wait, so I just went to a salon.

And this happened…

322315

 

What the what?!? I mean, I don’t even know what to do with this (click the image to see a larger version of my hair, in all its glory). I might not know that much about hair…but I know that if you are going to give someone a bowl cut, you should make sure that you don’t use a bowl that is deformed and all misshapen and looks weirdly crazy. Why? Because that’s how the person’s hair will end up looking (it is exactly how my hair looks in these images) — misshapen and weirdly crazy.

For starters, what the heck are those things by my ears? Are they supposed to be sideburns? Because they look like flimsy hair from someone’s nether regions. And why does my hair suddenly drop off after my fringe/bangs/whatever word you want to use? I don’t know that much about layering, but I know that you’re supposed to do it. And (most importantly) why do I have a bowl cut?!? What kind of crazy-ass grown woman asks for a bowl cut?!?

Kara Saves the Day!!!

IMG_2699Fortunately, Kara came to my rescue. The only thing that she could really do was make it into a super short pixie cut. Which she did rather nicely. I took this image in London, and two weeks after Kara cut it for me.  Since it was so short, it was nearly impossible to get my bangs to stay down. Fortunately, 3 pounds of hairspray seemed to do the trick. Unfortunately, it rained a lot in London, so I generally had a few ounces of hairspray running down my face at any given time. Good times, truly.  But it grew out and everything was wonderful.

Until I tried to cut my own sideburns…

Sigh...

Sigh…

One thought on “The Crazy Hair Chronicles

  1. Kara seems to be your Hair Savior. It’s a nice cut for you and don’t tamper with your side burns anymore. Ok? LOL

Leave a Reply

