Doctor Who Duct Tape Purse:

99df60b111aafb4afb3f68c183fd52c3I love Doctor Who.

In fact, I love nearly everything on the BBC. British television is simply glorious. Stephen Fry’s “QI” is currently eating my life, but I learn a lot in the process and I get to laugh at Alan (who is simply charming). So I really don’t feel too bad about it. I just finished watching Simon Pegg’s “Spaced” a few months back, which was also wonderful. I know, I know. I am a bit late to the party (about 14 years late), blame America for not giving me access sooner. Then of course there is the much anticipated season of “Sherlock,” the morally questionable “Peep Show,” “Black Books,” “IT Crowd,” and…well the list just goes on and on really. I could spend some time talking about how British television is so wonderful because it is not whitewashed like American TV, but I have been rambling for a bit now and I really shouldn’t belabor this any longer.

The Final Product:

020

So here we have my wonderful Doctor Who Purse. If you didn’t catch my last post, I talked a bit about how to makes these purses and what size is ideal. You can find that post here. I also talked about how the purses looked bland with all of that blank space in the middle, and how unfortunate the hearts that I used to take up this space look (essentially, the hearts made the purses look like the were made for toddlers). So I thought I would try something a little bit different.

If you do a search for “Doctor Who Propaganda,” you will come up with a whole bunch of images. I made a handy pinterest collection of the best ones here. On my board I have a range of images from Star Trek, Star Wars, Doctor Who, Battlestar Gallactica, and a few other things.  I update it as a stumble across other interesting images; HOWEVER, I don’t actually own any of them ie. I did not make them. Now, I would love to give proper credit to whoever did make them. Unfortunately, they are all over the internet, so it is nearly impossible for me to track this person down.

Why do I mention all of this? Because I know that a lot of people sell their crafts. And if you are making money using an image that you didn’t create, it can be rather problematic (unless you have permission from the artist, of course). But, if you are just creating this for your own personal use, then you are good to go.

How to do it:

022Putting the image on the purse is really not as simple as it sounds. Essentially, you just get clear duct tape and put it on the purse. However, making sure that the picture doesn’t get all crinkled is rather difficult.  Helpful hint: DO NOT try and laminate the image. If you do, it won’t stick to the duct tape on the purse (it will probably fall off after a week or two, or start to peel and look all dirty and gross underneath).

What you need to do:

  • Get a flat surface that you can use and tape your image to this surface. Make sure that you can peel the tape off off the surface with ease (you don’t want to damage the image as you rip it away, and you certainly don’t want to damage whatever surface you are using).
  • Cover the entire image with clear tape, and you need to leave enough extra tape along the top, bottom, and edges to hold the image to the purse.
  • Make the purse as smooth as possible.
  • Carefully peel the image from the surface and place it on the purse.

It may take you a little bit to get the hang of this. I had to throw out 3 or 4 images before it finally worked. As I said, it sounds simple, but it is really easy to end up with a crinkly mess. The good news is, mistakes don’t really damage the purse, as the clear tape peels away rather easily. However, you will want to practice on a few pieces of blank paper, lest you waste all your printer ink (like I did).

Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

